Tags

,

Up early but didn’t get much done-Futzed + pottered about-Peter off to gym-I wrote a letter to Jean Grey at Farmington, returning the check she’d sent me for 2 copies of Lion.  Asked her + Miss Comans between them to select some theatre + poetry books for the library in memory of Sally Carey.  Mailed out a copy of Lion inscribed to her nephew David Michael at the same time.  I started “The Man who Loved Children” by Christina Stead, the gift of Norman + Miriam Poser.  Lester called from New York.  they want to buy more Syntex now that it’s so low.  While on the phone I heard the heart rending shriek from the puppy and went rushing into the other room.  The mail had come shooting through the slot on top of him + scared him silly.  Pleasant talk with Lester.  Peter home about 1:30- He fixed up the things for tonight’s dinner + got a call from Mike to get out to U.I. to read for a Run for Your Life.  While he was gone I lay around + read a Miss Silver mystery-“The Chinese Shawl.”  Peter back at 6:30-reading went well.  Timmy + Joan arrived at 7.  Humbug a great success + actually behaved very well.  Dinner good although a little under cooked.  Joan + Timmy left about 10:20-then Peter + I sat around + drank beer.  I had too much but suppose as long as I was home that it needn’t constitute a breach of resolution.  I only had 2 drinks before dinner.  I don’t want to get to the point of clarifying how many beers or how much wine a circumstances differ so.  My aim with the limit of 3 drinks is to avoid getting drunk when out or in company.  Only 12 days have gone by but so far I’ve been successful in that.