Tags

, , , , , , ,

Alaskan earthquake

Woke about 7:30-Annie turned on radio + we heard the horrible news of an earthquake which hit Alaska last night. Anchorage 1/3 destroyed. Seems to be comparatively small loss of life (several hundred?) considering the intensity of the shake but Alaska is sparsely populated even in its cities. Annie left for work + I packed Mother’s typewriter-I hope it arrives safely + wrapped up the pictures I took in Ouray for Mary Jean. Annie’s Mother called-her brother (Annie’s uncle) lives in Anchorage + she’s been trying to contact the Red Cross who are being deluged with calls. I called Mather-the only one in the family I’ll have missed this trip but he wasn’t in so I chatted with Marion. Told her about Peter + she seemed pleased. I’d woken her up so the conversation was a little vague. I’d been supposed to meet Arthur Kingsley of Hayes Registry this morning but there just wasn’t time. Told him I’d mail him a copy of the book. Just as glad as the face behind a telephone voice is often a shock. I mailed my packages + picked up one Annie had. Washed my hair + left the apartment at 12:45. Got a cab out to the airport. The driver brooding about the World’s Fair + the traffic it will bring “I don’t want no part of it.” At the airport I bought a ticket to Louisville on Thurs April 2nd from L.A. + back. Had planned to write some notes on the plane but instead read a detective story + slept. My lunch consisted of a chocolate bar bought in haste as they were broadcasting the last call. Arrived in Tulsa at 5:45. Newcomb + the three children there to meet me + all called me Aunt Patience. My fit of pique melted (from Wednesday) + I was thoroughly ashamed of myself. Busy as irresistible as always. Got to the house + had some coffee + soup. Bathed + got dressed for party. I have Susan’s room again-poor dear. She + Busy had Easter presents for me. Larry’s saving his for tomorrow. We went over to Sally + Dave Cordell + lo + behold they too had been briefed + everyone called me Patience-silly how much that pleases me. I told Anne about Peter before the party-we all went on to dinner after Jim + Dotti Ditman, Jim + Patsy Mandeville, Dorothy Keaton + Jack [_]inc, Joanne + Dale Stauffer (her brother Jed Johnson is running for the Rep. nomination for Congress) Bob (?) + Mary Warner. Martha (”Boo”) + Allen Roberts-I think those are all I met. Very nice group. After party told Newcomb about Peter-he never turned a hair. Dear Newcomb what an injustice I did you mentally. Everyone quite drunk. Went upstairs + Susan + Larry were up-were going to come to bed with me but Anne rescued us all.